Fuentes, Bacaltos receive Ocean Heroes Award


Dr. Augie E. Fuentes, Davao del Sur State College (DSSC) President and Dr. Grace G. Bacaltos, DSSC International Affairs and Relations Officer received the Ocean Heroes Award in the recently concluded Pagpupugay: Ocean Heroes Awards for Partners and Allies on June 17, 2022, at Luxent Hotel, Quezon City given by Oceana.


Oceana is an international organization focused solely on oceans, dedicated to achieving measurable change by conducting specific, science-based policy campaigns with fixed deadlines and articulated goals.


According to Oceana, the Ocean Heroes Awards is rooted in the partnership among Oceana, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), and the Department of Agriculture Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (DA-BFAR) aimed at recognizing the significant contributions towards the sustainable management of the country’s marine resources.


“It is my honor to receive the award given by Oceana. This accomplishment is a significant milestone not only to me but for the entire DSSC community as we continue to move forward with our commitment to preserve our ecosystem including our oceans and other bodies of water,” Fuentes said.


This year, 36 ocean conservation partners from the government, academe, fisherfolk groups, and civil society organizations were awarded who, according to Oceana, “were instrumental in effecting the needed policy reforms and in realizing victories for the ocean and for the impoverished coastal communities most vulnerable to the impact of climate change.”


Other awardees were the following: DILG Secretary Eduardo M. Año; USec Marlo L. Iringan; USec Bernardo C. Florece, Jr.; Atty. Odilon L. Pasaraba; Dir. Vivian P. Suansing; Adrian Paul P. Santos; Carlo Mari Crisregienald C. Tan; Aleya Carmela E. Arca; Atty. Anjelo D. Saturnino; Agriculture Secretary William D. Dar; USec Cheryl Marie Natividad-Caballero; Drusila Esther E. Bayate; Sandra Victoria R. Arcamo; Dr. Juan D. Albaladejo;  Ronnie P. Esmeña; Christine N. Gresola; Edmar Kristopher P. Petallaña; Nelson B. Bien; Sammy A. Malvas; Sonia Olayvar-Elloso; Edmundo M. Amican III; Ariel U. Pioquinto;; Nonie P. Enolva; Dr. Noemi SB Lanzuela; Dr. Emma L. Ballad; Atty. Arsenio S. Bañares; Dr. Angel B. Encarnacion; PCOL Fernando L. Cunanan; PCOL (Atty.) Oliver S. Tanseco; CG Admiral Artemio M. Abu; Dr. Wilfredo L. Campos; Dr. Elviro A. Cinco; Dr. Yasmin Primavera-Tirol; and Councilor Alvin M. Dizon. (RW/DSSC-PAO with reports from Oceana)